5 Fandom Friday: Favorite Fictional Fathers

5fandomfriday

           Well friends, it’s Friday! I can’t tell you how excited I am for a weekend free of obligations. I am a total introvert, and too much stimulation overwhelms me, so I need lots of time to recharge. Of course, I’ll be doing homework all weekend (Math, YUCK!), but it’ll still be nice to hide away and be mostly alone. Anyway, I’m jumping in on 5 Fandom Friday (btw, LOVING the new graphic by Darling Stewie!) this week to talk about my favorite fictional dads! I found this prompt quite appropriate this week since my dad’s birthday was a couple days ago! So, without further ado, my 5 Favorite Fictional Fathers…

prideandprejudice_93

1. Mr. Bennet: Pride and Prejudice has been one of my favorite books for as long as I can remember. I favor the 2005 movie with Keira Knightly over the BBC mini-series (I know I know, sacrilege!), and have read the book more times than I can count. I love Mr. Bennet. He and I share the same opinion of his wife and three younger daughters, though mine may be much stronger since he does love them (I find them incredibly silly and annoying, though I’m positive that’s the point). We also share adoration for Lizzy and Jane, his two eldest. Now, Mr. Bennet is not without his flaws, but we are all flawed, and I find him to be a wonderful, sweet father, who loves his family very much. I love that he recognizes his older daughters’ grace, smarts, and individuality, and lets them choose their own paths, their own love. I also think Donald Sutherland plays him incredibly well.

Fringe4

2. Walter Bishop: I have two episodes left in Fringe. Yes, the last two episodes ever. I am so so sad, but, I am watching it again with the boyfriend. This makes me happy 🙂 I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone who hasn’t seen Fringe (if you haven’t, you NEED to!), so I’ll keep the details out. Walter Bishop was not a great father when Peter was a boy, but he knew that and tried so hard once they got reconnected. Walter was a bit of a loon, often on psychedelic drugs, but was very conscious to try and mend his relationship with his son. He is brilliant, caring, and passionate, and while not the perfect father, definitely one of my favorites.

tumblr_m7lfrd9TVk1qzhhw8o1_500

3. Eddard Stark: Oh Ned. This will be short and sweet. Never have I read of or watched such an honorable, wise, sacrificial father (well, fictional). He is stern, but compassionate towards his children. He loves, but does not coddle. He seeks justice, and proves to be an incredible example of honor and dignity for his sons. He is truly one of the greats.

120619044345-arthur-weasley-deathly-hallows-story-top

4. Arthur Weasley: Mr. Weasley was not only a loving dad to his 7 kids, but was also a wonderful father figure to Harry and Hermione. He truly loved them as his own (which was good since they ended up his son and daughter in-law. Arthur was always a bit goofy, and to me, in the earlier books, came across as sort of a nervous man, but he was no pushover and as you can see in the above picture, stood up for himself, his children, Pure-blood Wizards and Muggleborns alike. He was fun, caring, and honorable, and set a wonderful example for his children.

c9b59140-8835-0131-3e92-3ee397fcad1c

5. Ron Swanson: As gruff as he likes to present himself, some of my favorite Ron moments are when he lets Diane’s daughters make him over, and anytime he spends with his little baby Swanson. But long before he had little bambinos of his own, Ron was doling out fatherly advice to everyone around him-sometimes even when he didn’t want to be bothered. You’d never know it by looking at him, but he has a big ol’ heart and is a wonderful father-figure and friend to the people he loves.

*BONUS DAD*

IMG_1687

Alfred Pennyworth: I know Alfred isn’t technically a father, but he did raise Bruce, and pretty much all of his sidekicks, so I figured I needed to add him as a little bonus. He is incredibly smart, sarcastic (which provides some comic relief throughout), and loving. He has ALWAYS been my favorite Batman character, and while Gotham isn’t my favorite portrayal of the DC comics, it is my favorite portrayal of Alfred (and Bruce). I love love love Sean Pertwee (which I think I’ve mentioned before) as Alfred, and I love seeing the relationship between he and Bruce when Bruce is young. It really is a wonderful look into how he raised and helped Bruce become a man.

Who are your favorite fictional dads? Let me know below, or head on over to my Facebook page and share! I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

